Tune In

Tune In takes the Beatles from before their childhoods right up to the final night of 1962 when, after packing several years into the previous three, they know success is theirs to grasp, but have no clue they’re on the cusp of a whole new kind of fame, a white-hot and ever-royal celebrity. These, then, are the formative years, the less visible years, the premadness years – and in many respects the most absorbing and entertaining period of them all.” 

Mark Lewinsohn

beatles_tune_in

Growing up, I thought that I was going to marry Paul McCartney and was certain that every relationship began with “I Want To Hold Your Hand” playing in the background. As I got older, I realized a few things, but still remained an ardent fan of The Beatles. Their songs were the background to my childhood and adolescence and still remain important imprints in my life.

Naturally, I loved diving into Tune In. Even though I had read a number of other biographical books about my favorite bands,Tune In was so insightful and informative that I cannot wait to read the other two books in the series. The book goes into truly personal details about each of the band members, but goes beyond ordinary facts. It reads like I am a backseat observer on the formative years as John, Paul, George, and Ringo became some of the greatest musicians in history. This book is dense, and not necessarily a quick read, but well worth it for all Beatles fans!

Leave a Reply

