The Adrenal Reset Diet

There is no doubt that people are gaining weight faster than ever before, but why is this happening? Cutting-edge medical research has some good answers, but unfortunately, most of the public and the majority of policymakers base their beliefs about obesity on theories we now know are not true. The popular view blames obesity on too many calories, too little willpower, and bad genes. It’s not that simple.

-Dr. Alan Christianson

I will begin this post by clarifying that I am not trying to lose weight. I have never been on a true diet, and I have no intention of counting calories or restricting myself with the sole hope of shedding a few pounds. Recently, though, I have acknowledged that my diet (as in what I eat) has not been providing me all of the nutrients that I need.

Talking to a close friend of mine who is training to be a nutritional therapist, it became clear that something was indeed a bit off. My friend suspected adrenal fatigue, and suggested some specific supplements, but also had recommendations for my diet. Feeling eager and especially motivated, I knew that I had to dig a bit deeper in order to understand my symptoms, how to change my habits, and how I could live a vibrant life.  Thus, I was thrilled to read The Adrenal Reset Diet by Dr. Alan Christianson.

Christianson, a naturopathic doctor has a wealth of experience and plenty of information about how to address adrenal fatigue and adrenal problems. With chapters that are engaging and easy to read, as well as sage advice on everything from the paleo diet to carb cycling and from the best foods for certain nutrients to sound research, The Adrenal Reset Diet is the ideal guide for those wishing to better understand adrenal issues. The recipes are delicious (although I wish that there were a few more), offering vegan modifications when needed, and there is compelling insight on everything from sleeping better to ideal herbs. While I am not a health nut or the typical reader of diet books, I am so glad that I had a chance to read this book as it has truly offered insight into how I can address my adrenal fatigue and the tools to begin on my journey.

Below is a recipe from The Adrenal Reset Diet:

Seasoned Rice and Veggies

1 cup brown rice

2 cups vegetable broth

2 teaspoons sesame oil

1 cup quartered button mushrooms

1/2 cup diced white onion

1/2 cup sliced zucchini

1/2 cup sliced red pepper

1 teaspoon grated fresh ginger

1 tablespoon miso paste

1/3 cup pine nuts

1/4 cup diced fresh cilantro (optional)

Rinse the rice, then add it to the broth to a 2-quart saucepan. Cover and simmer on low heat for 30 to 40 minutes. Meanwhile, add the sesame to a heavy-bottomed saucepan and saute the mushrooms, onion, zucchini, red pepper, and ginger until the vegetables start to soften, about 3 minutes. Mix in the miso paste and pine nuts, cook 1 minute more, then fold the rice in with the vegetable mixture. Sprinkle with cilantro, if desired. Serve warm.

Leave a Reply

